St Petersburg IV – Looking for Tony

image

Monument at Cemetary

The cemetary was huge. Over 60 hectares of yellow forest, leaves drifting to the earth like snow onto graves packed into the undergrowth.

Karen had seen my blog when researching hers (www.herodad.wordpress.com). Her Dad and extended family, Americans, had had to flee St Petersburg (at the time called Leningrad) and the USSR as World War II approached and the bombs fell. Karen is researching and blogging their fascinating stories.

Karen’s Dad travelled the Trans-Siberian railway to Vladivostok (then went via Japan of all places and on to the States). He visited many of the same places I had on this trip, hence Karen’s interest. Her kind comment on my blog coincided with my arrival in St Petersburg so I asked if there was anything special she might like me to photograph. This is how I arrived at little known Serafimovskoje cemetary looking for “Row 31, Grave 11”, Karen’s Uncle Tony.

It was a lovely sunny day and silent. I had Area 31 (which I hoped meant Row 31) to myself, other than a little elderly lady silently scraping and painting a fence around a grave then, it seemed, moving onto the next one. The only sound among the trees and leaves was the crunch of my feet on twigs as I tried in vain to find Tony, twisting myself between grave sites trying to make out a 1940 or an ANTON or… sadly no luck.

My report to Karen and some more photos are in her lovely blog post ‘A Bumblebee Searches for Tony’.

Occasionally a family would pass by on a nearby path to visit their loved ones. This was a living cemetary. I was startled at first to find 2013 graves as well as the older ones, some now no more than mounds covered in twigs and long forgotten, or maybe not forgotten, just belonging to a family far away.

For all the museums I could have visited to learn about the Leningrad Blockade, the priviledge of searching for someone’s actual family member, amidst so many graves, really made the whole thing real for me.

Hitler’s Germany cut off and bombed St Petersburg/Leningrad for 872 days from 8 September 1941 until 27 January 1944 during which over one million people died from the shelling or from starvation. To stay alive, people were eating sawdust bread and, in the end, sometimes each other.

Not to belittle their contribution in anyway, but for comparison, in the whole war USA and UK lost a total of about 700,000 people combined. You can understand why most Russians, taking Stalingrad and other cities into account also, quite adamantly consider that they were the ones that ultimately won WW2.

image

Map of the Cemetary - I took a photo to use as a guide...and needed it!

image

Area 31 begins here!

image

Counting 11 graves back...

image

1939... one year out. Maybe Tony's headstone looks something like this?

image

Rest in peace. Path with Area 31 on immediate right hand side.

This entry was posted in Russia, Travels in the World and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to St Petersburg IV – Looking for Tony

  1. kjw616 says:

    You cannot imagine how I felt when I awoke this morning and saw this post about your search for my uncle. Although you could not find his exact grave, I want you to know that I am so greatful to you for taking the time from your trip to try to locate it. Looking at your photos is more than I could ever have asked for and just seeing the cemetary which was his final resting place was a wonderful gift. Thank you Bumblebee!

  2. Pingback: A Beautiful Gift from a Bumblebee | Do Svidanya Dad

  3. Pingback: A Bumblebee Searches for Tony-Random Act of Kindness | Do Svidanya Dad

I'd love to chat with you - Post a comment below!

