Perm – Happiness is Yellow!

image

The two hour bus ride from Perm (still in the Urals), then 2.5k hike along a country road to the village of ‘Kuchino’ was a dream…

I love the simple act of “travelling” and the scenery was incredible!!

Today was also a good day for hunting. Hunting that elusive photo to capture “yellow” – so often prevented by a dirty train or bus window or my limited phone camera.

A Russian girl once told me that there are hundreds of different words in the Russian language for the hundreds of different pines they have in Russia, but frustratingly only one word in English, ‘pine’. Today I’m inclined to believe her!

The ‘laa laa lala la la’ smurf song hummed all of its own accord as I strolled along happily (and unafraid following ‘The Talk’) swinging my water bottle…

Here are some of my meagre hunting trophies, supplemented with some shots of Perm itself.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

If you liked this, you might also like other posts in the “Travels in Life” category – see the menu bar above or try Letting Things Go, One Lone Chopstick, I found happiness on Yalu River or The Runaway Train.

Unfortunately, my reasons for going to Kuchino were not so happy, as you can see here.

This entry was posted in Russia, Travels in Life, Travels in the World and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Perm – Happiness is Yellow!

  1. kjw616 says:

    I have enjoyed your pictures. My American family lived in Russia between 1931-1947. They were on the move between Leningrad to what is now Samara, but the trip there was not direct. Perm was one of the locations on the train ride, so it is so interesting to see these pictures. Thanks

    • Bumblebee says:

      Hi Karen, Your blog is fascinating and reading it adds another dimension to my trip. Thank you for making contact!

      I am actually in St Petersburg (Leningrad) now if there is anything in particular you might like to see or know from here? I will be heading to Murmansk, Volgograd, Astrakan, Elista and Sochi all going well, before leaving Russia. I did hope to get to Samara but unlikely to have time now. Good luck with your intriguing enquiries!

  2. kjw616 says:

    I saw someone in Leningrad was reading my blog. I am glad you like it and now the mystery is solved! You are so lucky to be going on this trip. This is a random request, which I know is probably impossible to do based on what I imagine how big St. Petersburg is. I have the address where my father lived. I don’t know if it is off the beaten path or in the ;middle of all the action. It may not even exist any more. But it doesn’t hurt to ask: 35 Lengradskaya Street. I doubt you will be able to find it, but I am looking forward to your photos of the city–Karen

    • Bumblebee says:

      Hi Karen, leave it with me and I will see what I can do! It will be fun! Yes, I am definitely very lucky to be here! You will have to visit sometime too if you haven’t already. You will feel like you know the place before you even get here!! 🙂

  3. kjw616 says:

    Oops. 35 Leningradskaya Street. I saw another: 37 Lenoi Prospect. The third is a cemetery, Serafimovskoje cemetery (Zausadebnaya Str. 33, St. Petersburg) I am not trying to send you off on some crazy hunt. But if in your travels, any of those names pop up, then snap away. I know that if someone asked me to find a street in some random city, I would probably fail miserably. I am just throwing out names in case any appear in your travels.

  4. kjw616 says:

    I took the first two addresses ( the address of the cemetery I got from a St. Peterburg cemetery website) and all the various spellings I got from my translator friend and put them into Google Maps. I got one hit, and the correct English spelling is (drum roll, please) 37 LESNOY PROSPEKT.

    • Bumblebee says:

      If I get to the cemetery which is a bit out of town, what names, years, should I look for?

      • kjw616 says:

        I would have been happy with the picture of the cemetery in general. I never imagined you would wall through the cemetery. I know that it is likely late in the day there for you now. However, if there is still time, I have been told that the specific grave is Row 31, Grave 11. The name he went by in NJ was Tony Wardamasky, in the USSR, the death certificate said, in English, Anton Vasilevich Vardamatski, . I am looking to see if I have it written in Russian anywhere. There may be multiple graves with the same last name perhaps, but Tony’s is the most important.

      • kjw616 says:

        Did my comment disappear? The date of death was May 20, 1940, Tony Wardamasky, also known as Anton Vasilevich Vardamatski, Row 31, Grave 11.

      • Bumblebee says:

        Great, if I have time I will go and have a look! I can understand the name in Russian so no problem there. 🙂

      • kjw616 says:

        Thank you. I would love it, but this is your trip. Enjoy yourself. If the cemetery is on the outskirts of the city, that is much too much to ask of you. Just as an FYI, the grave is the uncle I spoke about in my post, “Tony, the Secret Police, and Helen Hayes.” Supposedly another uncle was in Leningrad/St. Petersburg in the 60s and found the grave. The specifics were in a book I found among my father’s things.
        I read your entire blog today and loved it. You are quite the adventuresome woman!

      • Bumblebee says:

        Thanks Karen, glad you’re liking the blog. I need to get Moscow and St P written and loaded! Time is a bit tight so no promises but you have got me curious. Both streets seem a long way from town but the cemetery is not too far I think.:-)

      • kjw616 says:

        I have no expectations at all. Just seeing what you have written about and your photos are more than I expected to find. I don’t want you to miss out on anything for a stranger.

      • Bumblebee says:

        Hi Karen! I visited the cemetary which is huge and really very moving. Unfortunately the sites are not marked other than vague areas and despite some hunting I didn’t find Tony for you. I so wanted to. I will email you personally with some photos and an archives address in St P though in a bit…. Need to get to ‘work’ looking around for now while its light outside! Take good care and keep posting. 🙂

      • kjw616 says:

        Thank you so much. Just going there means a lot. Enjoy the rest of your visit there.

      • kjw616 says:

        Антон Вардомацкий

  5. Pingback: Perm 36 – Last Gulag Standing | Bumblebee Trails

I'd love to chat with you - Post a comment below!

